Established in 1996, Health Co-Management was formed to be a proactive mechanism to address health issues for First Nations communities in Alberta. The main goal for Co-Management is to increase the participation of First Nations in assessing, planning and managing programs and services that are funded or offered by Health Canada, First Nations Inuit Health (FNIH) in the Alberta Region.

Co-Management acts as an advocate for First Nations health interests on behalf of the Chiefs of Treaties 6, 7 and 8.

Committee Membership

  • Chief Irvin Bull, Treaty 6, Maskwacis
  • Chief Kurt Burnstick, Treaty 6 – Yellowhead Tribal Council
  • Chief Darcy Dixon, Treaty 7 – Stoney-Nakoda-Tsuu t’ina Tribal Council
  • Chief Joseph Weaselchild, Treaty 7 – Blackfoot Confederacy (represented by his proxy, Councillor Ike Solloway)
  • Chief Jim Badger, Treaty 8
  • Chief Gordon Auger, Treaty 8
  • Jocelyn Andrews, Regional Executive Officer, FNIHB
  • Rhonda Laboucan, Regional Director Strategic Partnerships, FNIHB